Inside Eddie’s Daydream #21

Went to the mailbox yesterday to see if I received any letters and I got nothing, smh. What in the hell will it take to get more inmates to participate? I will have to double my efforts and send another thirteen letters this weekend. I already roped 1/13 inmates. Next time I will send a stamp and envelope with the letter to see if that is more effective.

Many of them are like, Why in the hell do you want to help me?… Why am I special? I have to convince them that I want nothing else other than to improve their mindset. It is almost like a mindset barrier that many men and women have to break open, in order to allow help. I’m not giving up, just realizing that I have to reach the ones who are open to change.

6 thoughts on “Inside Eddie’s Daydream #21

  1. I really think that what you do here is quite honourable in trying to help people. But I know that world, (unfortunately) and most people in that world they are there because of their own choosing, they choose the criminal life. I´ve been in and out of jail too. Until 4 years ago. And I still have some “things”· pending so who knows when they will appear, normally when everything seems to be going well in life I get slapped in the face by something I did in the past. I think is great what you do but if I meet some of my old “friends”(in that world you don´t have friends) and tell them that I have this job for them, and a stable house e.t.c. They´ll look at me as if I´m nuts, I still see them. We shake hands, say a couple of jokes and out I go on my own path. Wich is a hard one since I pretty much know only that life in my adulthood, apart from my army days. And probably before at a smaller scale I have always had the side job if you will of committing criminal acts even while I had stable jobs. So really it was up to me and only me. As much help as my family wanted to provide me I rejected it. But I guess there is always a chance that you may help one out of 1000. The odds are stack against you, you are not dealing with very nice people to say the least. But I do admire your commitment, I really do. So keep up your good work, hopefully it pans out in the long run.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eddie, you have to remember that patience is the key to your dream. What you’re doing is very admirable just hang in there and try not to get discouraged.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

