Inside Eddie’s Daydream #10

Lately I have been thinking about some incredible ideas. Of course, I make it a habit to write them down, but I really want to start something new.

I don’t wanna quit my job and backpack in Europe. However, there is a part of me that yearns to start something magical. Something that gives me more passion than money. Each book I read, the vague picture becomes clearer in my head.
I got some other decent news besides the MIL situation. My daughter is entering the age of prekindergarten and we are school hunting {really my wife is the one who is school hunting}, and we have decided that private school would work best for now. My daughter went to one of the prospective schools to participate in an aptitude test of some sort. Long story short, she aced it. The teacher who tested her was aghast and said my child is gifted. She continued on saying that my child would need custom made curriculum, because the other kids wouldn’t be at her level. 

Teachers get really irritated at parents who say, “My child is REALLLLY smart!”, because it comes off as pretentious and pompous. I researched information for parents who faced similar situations and came across this blog who slammed parents like me and my wife. Here it is:

I loved how the parent ethered the teacher. Lol.

Seriously, I think they both have a point. The only thing I can do is keep taking my daughter to the library, and doing math with her. Emotionally, my daughter isn’t ready for skipping a grade. That is out of question, but she is reading bedtime stories to HER grandmother at night. Lol. She gets mad at me for trying to read to her, she wants to read to me. Everything will be alright.

9 thoughts on “Inside Eddie’s Daydream #10

  1. I’m proud to read this kind of dilemma. It reminds me of how today Homeschooling vs traditional schooling is a hot topic. I feel every child is different and should be taught differently. This is great food for thought. Have you thought about starting a talk show talking about being a black father? We need a voice.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks for the compliment. I would LOVE to start a talkshow about Black fatherhood. I think Black men get lumped into the negative feminist stereotype, of being deadbeat jailbird ignorant men or irresponsible fathers. There is a stigma against alpha men in general, but black men especially. We live in a sensitive climate where you can’t be 100, you gotta be careful what crowd you may offend.

      I think that black kids are labeled in schools by teachers as misfits with ADHD. Black kids don’t pay attention and they just don’t get it…. Blah, blah, blah. Our kids are intelligent by every stretch of the imagination, they just don’t know it or haven’t tapped into that potential yet. Our kids get misunderstood because of hip hop and fashion styles. So when these teachers see a black kid that displays those smarts, they become almost over enthusiastic. Im going on a rant, but I hope it makes sense. Lol

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Black mothers AND Black fathers need positive reinforcement and advocacy, IMHO! I was told that I was a crappy mother for divorcing my abusive husband, “adding to the statistics,” instead of “sticking it out” – go figure!

        Your daughter has a great dad…those of us who were (and still are) gifted geniuses need lots of mental stimulation, both at home and at school – and everywhere we go! I was one, and so was my son.

        šŸ˜Ž

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I faced the same dilemma with my youngest daughter when she entered pre-school. Because she’s a year behind (because of her birthday), she’s a bit advanced and she’s gifted on top of that. So when she was 4, they tried to put her in the 3 year old class (because they follow district rules). I told them, she needed to be with the four year olds, but they didn’t listen. After a week of talking with her, they decided I was right :-/ As of today, she’s going on 15 and in the IB program at a gifted high school. Crazy what can happen if you don’t advocate for your child.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sounds like your daughter has all the makings … I’m sure you’re right to keep her with her own age group, the right thing socially, and there are plenty of opportunities for extra intellectual stimulus like those you’re planning.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. “However, there is a part of me that yearns to start something magical. Something that gives me more passion than money.” I am with you on this. someone’s blog (it think it was makeitultra) once told me that you should spend money on experiences rather than items!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

